I saw this book for sale recently and on buying it I discovered that the artist Mary Sumner had very sadly passed away: 1957 – 2016.

I was really miserable – she was such a talent and to think there will no longer be anymore of her wonderful art in the world put a cloud over my day.

She had such a unique eye for composition and rhythm in paintings; coupled with her textile background which brought pattern to everything.

She was an amazing colourist too, layering up paint and colour with texture to create images that pulsate with an energy from colour.

I connected with her textile designing view for painting, her colour sensibilities and choice of content. It’s given me pause for thought that the art we make is our legacy and what that might mean.

I have poured over each page of this book; looking and learning and would highly recommend it for its abundant beauty and charm. It’s very picture heavy which makes for a good study but and I was also left wanting to read some more about who Mary was, her journey through life and her thoughts. So sad for such a talent and life-force of an artist not to have years and years more to live and time to make art to share with us.