When we stayed in Cape Town, South Africa we visited the The South African National Gallery where we discovered the exciting work of Lionel Davis.

Lionel is a self-taught artist having discovered his artistic creativity at the age of 41 through contact with a local community arts programme.

I think this exhibition was a retrospective of his life and work thus far.

It’s his experimentation with all kinds of media and the joy of his discoveries and makes his work appealing to me.

I don’t know about you but I often get stuck in my own groove of using certain techniques and mediums but it is refreshing to see a portfolio of work that plays with different approaches and methods.

It reminds me to keep trying new things.

But his work is not just attractive to the eye,  it plays a real part in channelling and expressing his social activism, his cultural views and in depicting life as he sees it in South Africa.

