IMG_3423antibes

Hello poor neglected blog! I came back from me hols and got swamped in work and life related doings but I’m determined to get something up now.

Bormes Les Mimosas 2We went to the south of France, Provence, for two lovely sunny weeks.

Cassis 2I have loved France since the first day I began my French lessons at secondary school.

IMG_2970

We didn’t travel abroad as a family back in the olden days when I was a child! so I found it fascinating and exotic.

IMG_3342 bormes les mimosas
I also adored the French teacher and found I loved learning a language and a new culture.

Hyeres - old town

We’ve not visited France for sometime (having to compromise with two kids) but this year we were young, free and single and prepared to drive 18 hours to get to La Ciotat on the south coast and then later Grasse – along a bit and inland.

RQUC5641

It was as beautiful and interesting as I’d hoped.

Barjols

Lots of markets (every night in La Ciotat where we stayed)

XCXM9568 cassis

I love to buy fresh food, a new basket, mooch about.

IMG_3366

IMG_2460 bormes les mimosas

There are endless lovely villages to explore along the coast and in land  – villages-perchés – the perched villages in hillside settings.

IMG_3110

Soooo many window boxes, door ways, nice views, flowers and plants to photograph – my HB is endlessly patient 😉

IMG_3436

And of course there is a wealth of art in the region.

Renoir’s house

 Interestingly the big dollar museums like Musée Mattise and Picasso seemed like they’d been cobbled together to draw the tourists in but the Museums of Chagall and Renoir (his last home) were quietly brilliant and charming.

musée chagall

Chagall has to be seen in the flesh – his work is amazing!

IMG_3006

This is where I’d still like to be – sitting in the shady tranquility with nothing to do! But that’s how all good holidays should leave you.




