Marken_embroidery4_Claire_leggett

I have been having a lot of fun over the last few months teaching Mixed Media Textiles at MAC Birmingham. This is a fabric collage piece based on the lovely village of Marken in the Netherlands.

Marken_embroidery1_Claire_leggett

The students are full of talent and creativity and sometimes it’s easier to show someone how they could approach their work, rather than explain it.

Marken_embroidery_Claire_leggett

So I have been using our Amsterdam trip as inspiration to re-aquaint myself with techniques and ways of working that I haven’t used recently while painting so as to make a sketchbook of samples.

Marken_embroidery2_Claire_leggett

And boy have I had fun! And learnt some things long forgotten such as I love print, love using embroidery stitch to draw with, like trans foiling, like dying but still hate weaving – too slow!

