claire_leggett_sewingforpleasure_collage1

Yesterday, me, myself and I took a little trip to the NEC to take a gander around the Sewing For Pleasure show. My interest in Textiles has got re-ignited since beginning to teach it at MAC and I was not disappointed by what I saw – here’s some of my favourite inspiration from the day…

claire_leggett_sewingforpleasure_collage3

Fran Holmes

Fran Holmes amazing fabric cabbages and Primulas.

claire_leggett_sewingforpleasure_collage4

Emma Villiger

This machine embroidery by Emma Villiger – I love the colours and the free machine embroidery that looks like writing.

claire_leggett_sewingforpleasure_collage2

Maria Stoller

A photo doesn’t do this piece by Maria Stoller justice – it was very translucent and floated gently around.

Maria_thomas_stand_2016

Maria Thomas

My favourite discovery of the day; Maria Thomas. Love her work and aesthetic and was very happy later in the day to take her workshop on appliquéd pockets.

Maria_thomas_workshop

This is the beginning of mine which I will finish sometime.

JAnet rose 2016

Janet Rose

And lastly this clever piece by Janet Rose which describes with image-transferred words and maps a special place. And of course I bought a few goodies along the way too which I’m looking forward to playing with. Have great weekend yourselves 🙋

 

 

