I have a v. large pin-board in my studio which is great except I have a tendency to fill it with things I’m inspired by but then not ever get round to following that inspiration. It’s become a bit like a huge pin-board of my brain or a way of filing things and putting them off – you know, a little drawing here, an inspiring card there = a big pile after a while.

claire_leggett_sketch

So one of my 2016 intentions has been to actually set to and get making.

Claire_leggett_Indian col palette

This is making for a bit of a random but fun way of working as I pick my way through the pinning, taking each as it comes without much planning.

claire_Leggett_surface_design_forest floor design copy

Here’s a new pattern design which started as a post-dog walk sketch of some finds in the wood which I then put into a pattern repeat and coloured with a palette chosen from a lovely painting in the V& A which I’d seen on a recent visit.

Wonder what’s next in the pick and mix?!

