indian minature v and a 1

What is it about Decembers approach and shorter darker days that seems to gobble up time and energy?!

indian minature v and a 4

I intended to be back here much earlier in the week to tell you about the wonderful V and A Museum. I have loved that place since the first day I discovered it in my teens. It’s like getting a round-the-world ticket to visit every culture and museum under one roof – so much design inspiration from every corner of the globe.

map  v and a

I had gone to see the Fabrics of India exhibition and I had taken a pen and paper because I so often come home with a book or some postcards and put them on the high teetering pile of ‘Future Inspiration’ but fail to get around to it.

IMG_9091

This time I thought I’d work while at the exhibition and cut out the lazy and forgetful stage and come home ready with some drawings to develop. And I’m glad I did because a) it was a no photos exhibition and b) there was so much to feast on.

IMG_9092

So you may ask where did all these photos come from? The answer being the Asian Art gallery that I just happened to duck into on the way.

claire_leggett_indian minature v and a

I so love Indian Miniature paintings – all the jewel colours, intricate patterns and the stories being told.

indian minature v and a 2

indian minature v and a close up

And there is something about the embroidery which inspires me endlessly too although I would never want to embroider it – I’m too impatient!

indian fabric v and a

The exhibition is beautifully set out and the videos of fabric being made are fascinating – like watching a caterpillar farm (well mulberry silkworm) harvesting silk – now I understand why it’s so expensive.

indian fabric 3 v and a
I’ll pop in again to show you my visit to the wonderful Borough market next.

