Claire_Leggett_painter_designer_prompts2

I took Art, Inc.: The Essential Guide for Building Your Career as an Artist by Lisa Congdon on holiday recently.

Claire_Leggett_painter_designer_prompts4

There’s nothing like a change of scenery and routine to open up the psyche to some old truths that need hearing afresh and maybe to some new ways of thinking.

Claire_Leggett_painter_designer_prompts3

I had resolved to not keep buying books written by artists making money telling artists how to be artists, but this one appealed (round corners!) and Lisa has a nice writing voice – it was refreshingly constructive.

Claire_Leggett_painter_designer_prompts

I decided to write down words or phrases that resounded with me while I was reading it; and I have since re-written them and pinned them up around the studio so they can seep into my subconsciousness.

Claire_Leggett_painter_designer_prompts5

I keep glancing up and seeing “Do uncomfortable things” – ah, surely not!



