Firstly, on my last post – thank you my sweet commenters 💖😻

+++

You know you’ve been busy when you rely on photographs taken to remind you of where you’ve been and what you’ve been doing. But it’s all good and being busy is all part of the business of being alive!

IMG_8043

This was my WIP until recently. Now I’m struggling to remember the pattern because another WIP has superseded it.

IMG_8416

Which is this one – a blanket for my youngest (who is planning to take it to Uni this time next year 😭) We are doing it together but she’s so hooked (and might have more free time than me) that she’s done two-thirds of the above.

IMG_8367

I am so chuffed to see her relaxing doing crochet – I feel like someone else has beamed down to my planet!

IMG_8286

We have visited many Uni’s over the last few months. I took a snap of this poem at Sheffield because I love it – especially this bit: “Among the jumbled bric-a-brac I keep a padlocked treasure-chest of empty space and on days… I turn the key, throw back the lid, breathe deep.”

Processed with Moldiv

I took a day trip to London, saw some new East End places and some old face’s – Spitalfields and Anthropologie (of course!)

Image

I started teaching the Baby and Toddler Sensory Art Play at our local Arts Center, which is the most fun, I love it! – I missed working with kids and this is a nice little dose of that without all the other hassle and expectation of working in a school environment.

IMG_1626

I decided I would make some fruit inspired patterns beginning with the summer fruits. I have done raspberries so far. That’s it! Life interrupted.

IMG_8260

It has not been Year Of The Garden this year but the blackberry brambles and the apple trees just did their thing regardless. I’m ashamed to say that only the rabbit has eaten any of the apples. The garden centre was selling off seeds for 50p a packet and I got rather carried away. So next year, instead of growing courgettes we forget to harvest, I have declared the veg garden is going to be a cutting garden and I’m going to be organised and do it right. There I said it here so I’m now accountable!

IMG_8328

I had a big project come my way recently –  to design two tea-sets. It’s a competition and I might have really good news to share very soon – eek! 😃. I really enjoyed doing it and finally my huge collection of vintage china got put to use as visual reference – see I knew there was a reason to collect it!

IMG_8389

I spent two solid weeks on it ignoring all the housework, cooking as simply as possible and just keeping my head down – this was the ironing pile at the end of that. I thought I’d share it to re-dress the balance if you thought I was living a beautifully styled, ordered life and share some reality with you instead!

++++

P.S.I’m on Instagram if you like a quick, up-to-the-minute way of connecting. Link above left if you’d like to see all this in real-time.

