OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here at home it’s been a busy time of visiting open days for prospective universities  – we’ve covered some miles in the car and on foot!

IMG_7753

Last week we did Oxford and Cambridge back to back – two fantastic cities covered at breakneck speed but the weather was lovely and if you follow me on Instagram you’ll see some snaps I took.

IMG_7678OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And speaking of Instagram, I had seen from someones feed that the Natural History Museum on the Oxford University grounds was worth a visit and so I ducked out and did just that and boy was I pleased.

IMG_7694

Apart from the usual bones and stuffed creatures they had fantastic displays of butterflies and insects which is what I had wanted to find.

IMG_7743

I wouldn’t want to encounter any of these without plate-glass between us but they are fascinating and endlessly inspiring for design work.

IMG_7699

I snapped so many pictures that I had to delete all my music files off my phone just to make enough space to continue – that’s dedication!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just through the Natural History museum is the Pitt Rivers museum.

IMG_7723

The museum began when Lieutenant-General Augustus Henry Lane Fox Pitt Rivers (long enough name?) gave a collection of around 30,000 objects to the University of Oxford in 1884 – you can read about it here.

IMG_7713

IMG_7729

It is an eclectic collection of objects to say the least but it did put a smile on my face because some of it is just so random.

IMG_7726

I loved the textiles (sadly it was very dark so the photos aren’t great).

IMG_7719

And as if all that wasn’t enough fun, imagine my joy at finding  ‘my’ book in the gift shop 😊

IMG_7730

