OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I knew when I snapped this shot that a) I’d got lucky and b) it was perfect to paint.

Clair eleggett Marrakesh

It needed something better in the front left foreground so I ‘imported’ some of these lovely cushions and lanterns.

Claire Leggett painter

I began with some block collage laid down to paint over – a piece of Arabic writing I picked up whilst in Marrakesh and a chocolate wrapper in the style of some of the tiles I’d seen there.

Claire_leggett_painter_early progress

After washing in some colours I drew in the structure.

Claire_leggett_painter_in progress

And continued to layer it up with paint – making textures, scratching into paint and printing too.

Claire_leggett_painter_Souk

I love how their body language translates this couples kind of nonchalance and conversation as they strolled along.

Claire_leggett_painter_Strolling in the Souk

It’s a challenge to paint so differently to normal but I love all the layers of print and texture showing through and it seems the perfect way to capture Marrakesh.

