Venetian Doorway  Mike Bernard

Venetian Doorway Mike Bernard

I have been reading a fabulous book by the artist Mike Bernard.

Village Shop  Mike Bernard

Village Shop Mike Bernard

His work appeals to me for a multitude of reasons – the colour, the approach, the texture, the subject matter, the life in them.

Venetian Doorway  Mike Bernard

Venetian Doorway Mike Bernard

I’m still developing my appreciation and use of ย acrylic paints and learning through his work has stretched me.

Fruit and Veg Shop, Orvieto  Mike Bernard

Fruit and Veg Shop, Orvieto Mike Bernard

I have poured over the photographs and read every word of his descriptions on his approach and techniques.

Roofscape, Port Isaac   Mike Bernard

Roofscape, Port Isaac Mike Bernard

I’ll come back in a few days to show you how he has influenced my own work, but I highly recommend the book ๐Ÿ™‚

