rooftops in sketchbook 2

Outside today has been sunshine and showers but inside it has been hot, hot, hot!

rooftops in sketchbook

I got started on this piece by un-leashing my inner Paul Klee,ย not intentionally, I was just blocking in some geometric shapes to work over but I love the painted patchwork.

rooftops in sketchbook 4

Then I collaged in some geometric shapes on top by using patterns and colours from my stashes, which resonated with the scene.

rooftops in sketchbook 1

A brief ray of sunshine brought real warmth to the scene.

rooftops in sketchbook 3

This kind of instinctive, not overly considered sketchbook work is important in unearthing the happy accidents.

rooftops

I think this rough little sketchbook piece has a lot to recommend another ‘proper’ go at it if I can relive it again.

