IMG_8044

It’s almost two years ago now that we went to Marrakesh and unbelievably almost two years since I’ve done anything with the wealth of visual inspiration that is crammed into every corner of this vibrant place – time to do some Marrakesh inspired artwork.

collaged tile

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I do have a tendency to percolate or nest on ideas for quite a while but then sometimes more inspiration comes my way and it’s hard to keep up – last years Italy holiday is a point in case – will it be another two years before I do anything with those beautiful images?!

moroccan tiles

So a couple of weeks back, I was really craving a spot of sunshine and wishing on a trip away somewhere to shake off the winter blues and it occurred to me that I could just re-live Marrakesh and do some new work simultaneously – which is what I’ve been up to.

Koutoubia Minaret mosaic

IMG_7901

I have hundreds of photos of Marrakesh and most have some sort of merit to me as an artist – so I was overwhelmed to start (there has been a lot of faffing about/work avoidance going on too.)

IMG_7902

So I decided to just begin with the first photo in the photo stream that spoke to me.

IMG_7913

IMG_9553

And I have jumped between quick little sketchbook pieces, colour studies on the computer and longer pieces of larger art.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just playing about and making art without trying to plan an end result.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_8226

