IMG_4468

I have just cast off these lovely pink socks and I think they have been my favourite knit so far, for many reasons.

IMG_4584

Number one has got to be because when I began them I was dog-sitting Lottie who had just come home from the vets having had her knee surgery. I bought the wool while we were killing time waiting for her operation to be done so we could bring her home.

IMG_4582

Once she got back, for a few days I just couldn’t leave her downstairs alone for long stretches of time while I worked upstairs, so I found myself sitting beside her bed knitting these. Now they’re finished they bring happy thoughts that, that difficult time was worth it as she is recovering nicely now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The second reason is this yarn. The shop owner who said I’d never go back after trying Debbie Bliss yarn was SO right. I don’t know why it’s so heavenly – this is Rialto 4 ply 100% Merino wool – but it feels like nothing I’ve ever used before and it knits up beautifully. Now I’m not a perfectionist, I drop stitches and find them later, but would you look at how perfect this knitting is!!

pink socks

The third reason is my down to my new pyjamas!! Oh, how I love new pyjamas – for some women it’s too many shoes, my weakness is my constant need for new pj’s! It wasn’t conscious (but it had to unconscious) that I chose wool in the exact same colour as the trims on my new pj’s – man, I am now warm, snuggly and matching from top to toe! lol.

IMG_4597

