layersofloveScreen Shot 2014-09-23 at 12.52.43

Back at the beginning of the year when she was selling her online courses cheap for 2014, I bought into Layers Of Love by Alisa Burke.

layersoflove start

It looked like it would inspire me on those days when one needs a little pep up for the artistic spirit – and it has not disappointed.

She does all kinds of cool things with junk and rubbish as well as art techniques I forgot about and sometimes there’s funky music with the video – that’s helped me get my groove on!

claire_leggett-acrylic_layering

These pieces came about on such a day as this, when I wasn’t really feeling it. I watched a segment and thought I’d just potter off and have a play layering some paint and making surfaces with whatever came to hand.

claire_leggett-acrylic_layering_2

Turns out I had fluro green on my mind which soon evolved into something tropical.

claire_leggett-acrylic_layering_4

I got a bit more controlled at this point and thought about what images I wanted to add to keep the theme the colours had suggested.

claire_leggett-acrylic_layering_5

There was a lot of going back and forth, adding another flamingo and toning down some colour with a wash of white, and I ended up with four fun little pieces out of a day that might not have counted without the lessons to inspire.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

© Claire Leggett Tropical Flamingos

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

© Claire Leggett Tropical Peacock

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

© Claire Leggett Tropical Butterflies

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

© Claire Leggett Tropical Flamingos

