claire_leggett_italian_inspiration_3

Over the last few weeks I have been using my Italian holiday photo’s for pattern inspiration.

IMG_2161

Studying holiday photo’s is a great way to re-live a holiday.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First you examine why certain places, colours, paintings or cultural details inspire you to take the photo in the first place and then soon after the design prompt can be found again.

claire_leggett_italian_inspiration_2

I looked up at a lot of ceilings during my week in Florence. Italians used to recline on a dais on the floor and so the ceiling was the most decorative feature of a room. Luckily for us we have iPhone reverse direction mode and so can photograph the ceiling without getting a crick in the neck!

claire_leggett_italian_inspiration_4

These ceilings were from the Medici Palace and as soon as I looked up, I could see a repeat pattern calling out for development.

claire_leggett_development_drawings

As I played around with drawings and tracings, I began to see which elements to keep.

claiRE_LEGGETT_Fra Angelico

The colouring came from generally soaking in all the colours I’d seen around me – I have quite a strong colour memory and often remember the colours of a place more than the details of names and places – not usually a useful quirk to have!

claire_leggett_italian_inspiration

There was a lot of faded distemper, crumbling concrete, exposed brick, terracotta rendered house walls teamed with turquoise shutters or a painted door; the wall paintings are faded frescoes from Far Angelico’s painted cells.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I called this collection Soffito as it literally means a ceiling in Italian and doesn’t everything sound nicer in Italian!

claire_leggett_soffito_collection

