Back in February I wrote about The Fauves here – the undisclosed reason at the time was because I was working on some prospective work. I find it hard to juggle secret projects and my own work and so sometimes forget to show projects I’ve done that were under wraps but can now be revealed.

Claire_Leggett_Fauvist_Project

The study of the Fauves reminded me to under wash the paper first so that colour glows through any gaps – in this case I noticed in a painting, that pink works really well and so I gave it a go.

Claire_Leggett_Fauve_1

I love how it gives the white a depth and glow and how it peeps through lighter washes of colour.

Claire_Leggett_Cottage_Door

© Claire Leggett “Cottage Door”

This piece wasn’t chosen by the client but it did move me on in terms of content and technique.

Claire_Leggett_Fauve_2

These are sneak peeks of the other piece I did which is still on the hold list – fingers crossed.

