ilpapiro

When we were away in Italy we enjoyed all the lovely shops that Florence has to offer – but this was my favourite.

hand-printed wood block

It was a lovely cool, neat and beautifully displayed shop of hand-printed wood block and marbled papers with many gorgeous books, files, writing accoutrements and other lovely paper stuffs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They are only too happy to perform some marbling for you – in impeccable English too!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These days they use gelatine instead of Linseed oil to get the paint to float on the water’s surface – health and safety 101.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I could have watched this magic for hours.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I did come home with a few of these pieces and a goodie bag of wood-cut prints but knowing me, it will be a few years before I actually dare to use them!

