OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 Paintings and sculpture, sculpture and paintings – Florence is bursting with them at every turn.

IMG_1956

The Uffizi gallery has hundreds of exquisite Renaissance paintings still as beautiful and sharp in colour as the day they were painted.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was very easy to become de-sensitised after about the fifteenth room – ‘oh there’s another beautiful gold leafed masterpiece’…

sculpture

I’m not a big sculpture aficionado but I could see the talent behind the pieces – I just can’t think how you would start to sculpt and what if you made a mistake?

IMG_1958

 But painting has merit at every turn for me – colour contrasts or harmony, emotion captured, clever composition or just great beauty.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And the buildings in and around Florence captured all of that inside and out.

IMG_1963

I snapped every inch of most churches, with my iPhone, because I could see pattern reference material for years to come.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I did actually get excited about seeing this great and famous picture (along with the queue of others who felt the same – hence bad photo)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hope you’ve enjoyed a tiny taster here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

