I have a new baby nephew about to make his way into the world and so I thought I would welcome him with a hand knit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 I have long wanted to try Debbie Bliss yarn because it comes in a beautiful range of colours and feels so good. So I went to my local knitting shop and the assistant didn’t have to try very hard at all to convince me to try the cashmerino; saying that once I’d knit with it, I would never go back – and she’s right about that. She also promised me that these needles were worth it too and again she was right. (Knit pro symfonie needles can be bought here or here)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So I cast on for The Classic Cardigan and was soon crowing over how lovely the knitting was, how smooth, how even…how perfect it was coming out – the most perfect knitting I’ve ever done (you may be guessing what’s coming…)

IMG_1510

I even learnt how to knit all five pieces up and create the yolk and flat seam on a round. It was going swimmingly. I was proud of it and then…

I sewed up the side seams without paying attention to the notches and created a sticky-out-lump which I had to unpick. Unpick blue yarn in blue yarn and yes you’ve guessed it; I snipped a stitch which I was sure was sewn and not knit and I was WRONG!!!

The styled shot

The styled shot

I managed to save it and you might not notice it if you don’t knit yourself and you weren’t told about it but it’s true what they say about pride before a fall!

The truth

The truth

I think it’s good sometimes to show up in blogland with something real that’s less than perfect – it gives a more rounded view of normal life! What have you botched up recently?!

