Claire Leggett_Birmingham Library garden corner

Issue 6 of Moyo is just out – back in September our new library building opened in Birmingham (I wrote about the building here)) and like many others I was impressed with it and reinvigorated with pride for my (adopted) home-town –  so much so that I offered to do a ‘Postcard From…’ for this issue of Moyo on pages 106-107.

issue 6_Moyo_Screen Shot

For those yet to discover it, Moyo is an amazing online surface pattern design magazine – check out the back copies here.

CL_Selfridges_Birmingham_A4

In my article I try to encapsulate some of Birmingham’s best bits – well my favourite bits! – from a designer’s point of view.

Claire Leggett_Birmingham Library facade

It was fun to do a bit more research and be a tourist on my own turf – it’s so easy to just go to the same few have places and forget all that’s on offer.

Claire Leggett Birmingham Library

 Apart from the written article, the brief was to design a pattern based on something from my locality so I doodled around with the shapes and negative spaces of the metal patterning on the outside of the building.

diamond cut circle

The architects used this metal work to reference the jewellery making past of Birmingham, so this pattern design is aptly titled ” Diamond Cut Circle”.

Claire_Leggett_Birmingham_library_view

This design, Library Circle, came about from the view of circles within circles that can be seen from one of the terraces.

Claire_Leggett Library Circles design

Come and visit one day and be sure to say hello 🙂

