claire_Leggett_Blossom_Birds_flros

Oh dear, well today isn’t Monday is it? Sorry about that – I’ve been off ill but I am here today with some fluorescent colours to put you in the mood for summer!

claire_Leggett_flro_bkgds

This painting all began with a desire to play around with some new fluro acrylics. I did two bases – I’ll show the other another time because there’s already a tonne of photos here.

claire_Leggett_Blossom_Birds_progress

I did give this a bit of thought before I began collaging onto it as I knew I wanted to put birds on a tree.

claire_Leggett_Blossom_Birds_more_progress

I used my Basil Ede book for some bird reference.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then it began to get complicated as I painted in some leaves and flowers. I quite like the spontaneity of working like this but when it doesn’t work out as expected, the reworkings can become quite time-consuming, as was the case here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I played around forever with the balance of light and dark and when I look back now, I kind of like where it was at here but of course if you’re using acrylic there is no going back and so in the end all the fluro colours got covered.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Blossom Birds © Claire Leggett

Funny thing  – I can’t remember when I last used red in a painting! Overall I’m happy with these spring birdies but it must have taken a week of too-ing and fro-ing to get it just right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And I love these little snippets of close up painting – the shiny bright gold dots….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The layers of textures and dainty flowers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And I’m always a sucker for a pink blossom flower and/or a bird – it is Spring after all.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

