spring_fair_1

There aren’t many places where on the left of the aisle you can see motorised Christmas elves dancing and on the other side a display of antique guns but Spring Fair at the NEC Birmingham is such a place. It’s a huge retail fair showcasing items from Christmas, Home Interiors, Art and Greetings cards to name just a few – it’s huge!

Triflora

I have just spent two days at this fair seeing what products are popular, what trends are in and meeting up with my agent in the Greetings card hall. I’m lucky that it’s on my doorstep and I was astounded to read that 75% of the UK population live within a three-hour drive of the NEC – mull that over…it kept us geographically on our toes working out if it could be true.

spring_fair_Kaemingk

One of my favourites stands belongs to a Dutch company called Kaemingk who make the most gorgeous displays with their products. Lots to inspire there.

Pip_studio_spring_fair_2014

Pip Studio had two stands this year full of it’s usual gorgeousness – new wallpaper book to swoon over, pyjamas to covet –  but also a dedicated stand showcasing it’s new range Royal Pip. I would like that plate very much 😉

creative_tops_stand_spring_fair_

Creative Tops  was another company with a beautifully designed stand and interestingly displayed products. Blue, yellow, birds, cupcakes… this is a winner for me.

creative_tops_spring_fair_

And I loved all this pattern on pattern finished with a tissue paper pompom.

Creative_Tops_spring_fair_2014

There are also free seminars and talks and I went to a couple and learnt a lot about Twitter at one and saw a 2014/15 trend report at another. It made a nice break from a painting that I’m having a wrestling match with but more on that soon.

