IMG_9356

Back in August I asked Lucy if she’d like a quilt. She said she would (thinking it might be for when she left home in a couple of years) but I had Christmas in mind. I like a challenge – never mind that I had already begun two other single quilts, was knitting a pair of socks, wrist warmers, scarf and other stuff. And that’s just in the evenings! If I get the bit between my teeth then nothing can dissuade me that it’s too difficult.

IMG_9352

 I could also sniff the opportunity to have company at the Quilt show this year – a rarer opportunity as the teen years tick by. I asked Lu to pick a pattern that she liked and bless her she picked this one from the Quiltmaker’s Colour Workshop book which isn’t really a pattern, it’s a colour guide.

quilt book

Not to worry, after some internet searching I found that the quilt design was Flying Geese and a tutorial on how to make it. Then we set off to the Quilt show with a loooong list of fabric that needed purchasing (we did agree that every third triangle would be patterned). This bit makes me laugh because I had originally intended for all these Christmas quilts to go some way towards the real use of all the fabrics I have bought over the years.

lu's quilt

In reality I either didn’t have enough yardage or it didn’t go or I just got plain carried away – especially easy when my baby girl bats her eyelashes! It was a dead easy pattern to sew up although you’ll see I struggled to make the geese fly over in a synchronised line! Quack.

lu's quilt

I didn’t think I was going to like the colour choices but once the mustard sashing went on I was won over.  She says she’s never slept better than with this on top of her bedding.

lu's quilt

The backing was my only nod to thrifting – I just striped up the left over pieces which were wide enough and added another of Ab’s clever computer sewn labels.

lu's quilt

There is something very nurturing about making quilts and knowing the comfort and warmth that they bring. It was never a chore to make any of the three Christmas quilts because of that reason alone.

