Is it too late to show up and say ‘Happy New Year’? Hope not.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hope you have all enjoyed whatever holidays came your way. I have benefitted from unplugging for a few weeks. I had really good family times over Christmas and the rest and perspective that brings was beneficial. I have some new Anthropologie china and clothes, a guinea-pig onesie (oh yes!) a wonderful pile of new books to read, have watched series 3 of Borgen from start to finish, nursed not one, but two separate colds so I figure that’s my lot till at least May andย I am officially obsessed with knitting socks.

This pair Lucy asked for a few weeks before Santa was due but luckily he likes a challenge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This pair was a gift of yarn to me knitted up over the Christmas holidays. I love them – this is the nicest yarn I’ve knitted socks with so far – Opal Sockenwolle – I love that word – it’s a German brand.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I left 2013 down in the dumps and on a very low economic ebb but I am choosing to bounce into 2014 and have coined it my YOLO year – I’m going to shake a stick at you 2014.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A Rifle Paper Co calendar – to remind me everyday what’s possible by starting with a paint brush.

Thank you to those who support me in life and here in blogland – please don’t ever under estimate the power of your leaving a comment here – I am always heartened when you say something because it’s lonely otherwise! And hi to the new readers who found me over the holidays.

I have lots of home made gifts to share with you this week now that the recipients have them and secrets no longer need to be kept.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And I wish you health and happiness and leave you with this from Sarah Ban Breathnach:

“โ€ฆtime is New Year’s bountiful blessing: 365 bright mornings and starlit evenings; 52 promising weeks; 12 transformative months full of beautiful possibilities; 4 splendid seasons. A simply abundant year to be savoured.”

