quilt tops

quilt tops finished back in aug

With family spread over the country, we often celebrate christmas multiple times. This past weekend was Christmas No 1 and as this gift is now no longer under wraps, I can show and tell it. For my mum and dad this year, I made a couple of matching quilts for their beds or just to snuggle under on the sofa.

mand d_quilts_72dpi

I was in the mood to begin them in August one week when I was having a painting glitch – I just downed tools and sewed it out! They are based on the Garden Trellis quilt from the book Jelly Roll QuiltsFirst learning curve here was to discover what a jelly roll quilt was! It’s always easy once you know but I selected all these fabrics not realising jelly rolls were already cut at the right width, height and co-ordination of pattern. So I had a bit of prep to do before I could even begin.

mand d_folded_quilts_72dpi

But once I had the correct sizes, the pattern instructions were dead easy and the blocks came together really quickly (although I do always forget that finishing the quilt top is only one third of the job –  wadding, quilting, finishing still ahead…)

quilt_label

I believe it’s quilters etiquette to name and date your creations these days. My friend Abs has a fancy sewing machine that stitches words and she kindly made me some labels to stitch on the back as the thought of all that hand stitching was a bridge too far!

folded_quilts_closeup_72dpi

The recipients were delighted and put them straight onto their beds 😉

++++++++++++++++++++++++

So this is my last post before Christmas – Have a super festive time with your nearest and dearest and thank you for your support and interest this year.  Claire x

