Thanks for all the encouragement on my last post – they say encouragement increases productivity and it’s true – thanks to you all, I have been painting away and will show you soon how it’s progressing. In the meantime I wanted to share Mary Sumner’s work with you a) because I love it and b) because its been influential in my getting to grips with acrylic painting.

Mary Sumner New Jug and Insects

Mary Sumner New Jug and Insects

I love the elements she uses in her work: birds, butterflies, patterned seed heads, stripy ferns and zig zag thistles. I love the way she see foliage as a pattern.

Mary Sumner Seed Heads

Mary Sumner Seed Heads

I have deconstructed her approach in my own mind in order to help me understand how to use acrylics and paint in layers, something which has been a challenge for me to work out in practise.

Mary Sumner Hedge Birds

Mary Sumner Hedge Birds

I think she has a wonderful sense for colour and shows how to have busy areas of splattering and decoration contrasting with plainer areas that undulate with layers of colour. I haven’t cracked that yet but I believe observation is the first step! Hope you liked her work as much as I do. You can find out more here on her website.

Mary Sumner Sparrow Hedge

Mary Sumner Sparrow Hedge

Image credit: Whitespace Art Catologue May 2013
