orchid_base.

I have been following the urge to dive into a mixed media acrylic collage again. I love/hate doing these – love because it’s freer than my usual approach and much more playful and I get to stick things with glue! Hate – because it takes me ages (most of which is sparring with it – paint something, prop it up, it tells me what’s wrong, I needle over it and then concede.)

orchid_sketched_into_collage

After the first freeform, no plan, washes and collage I dance around starting the piece for proper. I feel scared of spoiling all the lovely accidents that have already happened and of continuing on by drawing on it.

bird_collage_closeup

The idea that proceeding without a clear idea and trusting that it might lead itself scares me enough to eat marshmallows, faff on the computer and generally go through the A-Z of work avoidances.

beginning_bird_collage

Any ways it is shaping up and this is how it’s ended thus far.

endofday1_bird_collage

