Deryn Relph                  Homes and Antiques Oct 2013

Deryn Relph Homes and Antiques Oct 2013

I am struggling to focus BIG time this week which is how I came to be looking at a magazine at 3pm on a Thursday afternoon. But it has introduced me to this wonderful textile artist – Deryn Relph.

deryn relph buttonbox collection

deryn relph buttonbox collection

Deryn’s background was in Biology and teaching before she found her niche through studying for a Fashion and Fibre degree. you know I always gravitate to stories about women artists throwing off their teaching career to follow their hearts into full time creative pursuits!

deryn relph retro rainbow rejuvenation collection

deryn relph retro rainbow rejuvenation collection

She loves to study the structure of plants and combine this with her knitting and crochet skills.

deryn relph petals and pixels  collection

deryn relph petals and pixels collection

I love the colour punch and design of her work, not to mention the use of bobble trim, for which I am a sucker any day. It brightened my day so I hope by sharing her beautiful work, it has yours too.

