July 2013

Inspired by my own gardening, reading The Adorable Plot and the mini painting class I took with Jenny Muncaster, I spent an afternoon capturing some of my own garden.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

sweet peas, hollyhocks, marigolds, sweet williams and nepeta

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m not a big fan of acrylic paints because of the waxy feel and the irreversible nature of them once dry but I am determined to to try and see why other people favour them so I keep having a go from time to time.

July 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

purple sprouting broccoli with lovely acid yellow flowers

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I liked Jenny’s technique based approach and so I flicked, masked and dropped water to create textured effects and used painted papers to collage. It is such a fun way to work and makes me think that my normal approach to painting a still life might be a tad serious.

July 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

pea canes dripping with pods

I like these for feeling I associate with the creation of them.

IMG_7203

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

