IMG_7508

Just popping in to tell you briefly about my little trip to Art In Action yesterday which was blue skies all day.

It must be about 5 years since I’ve been and it has become much better organised. There are demonstration tents for Painting, Textiles, Illustration, Sculpture, Newcomers, Jewellery, Storytelling, Music, even Bee Keeping!

art

There was probably more but I can’t remember it all.

IMG_7496

My favourite stall was this one belonging to milliner Jane Corbett (The Duchess of Cambridge wore one of her hats recently don’t ya know).

IMG_7498

It was so bright and vivid and bursting full of inspiration and creativity.

IMG_7497

And she had made this adorable little book and decorated the pages with stitch and button collages, papercut page markers and tiny little birds. I want one!

IMG_7511

You might remember my disappointment at not getting a place on the mackerel painting class that Jenny Muncaster ran at Patchings. When I saw people leaving with these awesome, vibrant, fish paintings I was so gutted that I’d missed the opportunity. Well as luck would have it, she was demonstrating on the Pebeo paints stand.

IMG_7513

She had spaces yesterday for my friend and I to have a go. I was giddy with excitement to learn Jenny’s water dropping and wiping technique, try acrylics again (and these paints are soft as butter) and leave with my very own fish painting a la Muncaster.

IMG_7514

The time flew by and I thoroughly enjoyed Jenny’s tuition – she tells you step by step what to do and we just got on with it without any angst –  she was super lovely , funny, normal and approachable.

IMG_7525

And here’s my little fishy on a dishy.

