IMG_7282

All this lovely sunshine is doing me the world of good but distracting me from working inside.

IMG_7293

IMG_7288

There is something about summer sunshine that is the perfect backdrop for just being out and about experiencing things and having fun.

IMG_7267

IMG_7298

I have been away to Norfolk and Wales (gadding again with a small amount of market research thrown in to ease the guilt)  lunching, playing round with Hipstamatic, baking, watching Wimbledon, rush-knitting a new baby gift, cooking for friends and gardening galore.

IMG_7261

IMG_7296

This year I feel as if I have gardened in a timely fashion – pruned fruit trees and roses at the correct time and been rewarded by abundant fruit and flowers, weeded carefully and by leaving things I wasn’t sure about, have been surprised by beautiful flowers that I have previously pulled out (groan!)

IMG_7297

IMG_7300

And my fabulous new vegetable garden (which will get its own post one day very soon) is looking smart and proving to be very easy to keep up and very prolific. On my list of ‘simple, satisfying things to do’ is growing and eating your own veg – it’s so wholesome and gives such a sense of achievement.

IMG_7299

IMG_7292

I am so inspired that I have already ordered next years seed in the Sarah Raven sale, a fancy wooden device that you fold newspaper around to make pots for seedlings and begun a list of flowers to grow next year.

IMG_7271

IMG_7294

So apologies for not concentrating on being in this space very much lately – I have been painting a lot in between and have things to share with you but as the saying goes, gotta ‘make hay while the sun shines’.

IMG_7289 
IMG_7286

