Homes and Antiques

Homes and Antiques March 2013

I recently read an article in Homes and Antiques on the artist Wendy Bray. She is in her 80’s and has enjoyed a full life as a textile designer for Courtalds, a ceramic restorer, a painter, an art dealer, a councillor, a mother of four and she’s studied for a M Phil.

Jubilee Square for Sanderson

Jubilee Square for Sanderson

The older I get the more impressed I am when I read of ladies such as she but this was doubled when I read of her recent efforts in re-marketing herself by cold calling companies with her designs.

IMG_7164

The story goes that her grown up daughter happened across her portfolio in the loft and was impressed enough with her mothers work to show it to a friend who is a carpet manufacturer. He bought a design thus giving Wendy the confidence that her work still had appeal. She went on to pitch to companies and magazines successfully and has had great success in licensing some of her designs. All at the age of 80.

Warner Textile Archive

Warner Textile Archive

I love this story. It reminds me that human spirit is ageless and your only as old as you let yourself feel. And that at 40 plus, I do still have my life ahead of me.

the curwen studio

the curwen studio

Β 

