I am, creatively speaking, all over the place at the moment! Card designs, paintings, patterns. I’m following my fancy wherever it leads me.

st_ives_boats_and_grassess_A5_72dpi

I keep trying to tidy up and find a ‘blank’ space to start from but I inevitably find something that I meant to do ages ago and didn’t. Which is how these came about. Thinking back, it must have been getting on for a year since we had these few days down in St Ives which is where I took these photo’s.

St_ives_seaside_A5_72dpi

There is a place called The Island which is a large lump of land sticking out at the top of the town centre away from the shops. It used to be part of the defences for St Ives and had a fort on it at one time. Now it’s used by the Coastguard and birdwatchers.

st_ives_colour_board_moss_rocks_A5_72dpi

Artists from the Twentieth Century enthused about the light in St Ives for good reason and the habitat is sub-tropical in many places in Cornwall.

Wheatfiel72dpi copy

Wheatfield © Claire Leggett

On the day we visited, as you can see from the photos, we were lucky enough to have sun, flora, beautiful light and amazing colours.

Meadow Jumble_72dpi

Meadow Jumble © Claire Leggett

It has later inspired these three designs as a memory of this place.

Mono Fern_72

Mono Fern © Claire Leggett

