IMG_6991

 This is the last of my holiday snaps and my favourite place of the trip (that maybe why I has so many to sort through and edit!)

100_5047

100_5030

 This is the The Royal Alcazar palace in Seville. And every inch of it was beautiful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Every turn revealed wonderfully patterned tiles or intricately carved facades, beautiful water features or lush gardening.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

100_5018

It began as a Moorish fort in 913. Subsequent monarchs have added to it since until it has become the beautiful palace that it is today showing the influence of Arab, Medieval, Renaissance and Baroque styles.(Oh get me! I did reference the guide book there!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Alcazar Palace has been lived in by most of the main kings and queens of Spanish history.

100_5005

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The tiles were awesome and I have a hundred photos to use for future design reference.

100_5038

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wish you could smell the orange trees at this point.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mark Hearld

I’ve also been looking at the work of the artist Mark Hearld, particularly the way he uses collage to capture scenes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had originally thought of painting from some of my photographs but the architecture is very intricate.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Instead I opted to have a play with collaging hand painted papers instead.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Which was a fun way to record the moment for now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

