montage_1

 

I have been working away in my own little greenhouse recently.

primulas_1

I spotted these Primula’s at a good price in an independent garden centre and had already seen an image online which had sparked the idea for plants in teacups.

primulas_studio

It is such a joy to paint these bright, cheery spring flowers, not only are they relatively easy to paint but being surrounded by them all day is a lift to the spirits.

primulas_3

There was the difficult choice of which cup for which flower – I looked like a deranged gardener having an Alice in Wonderland-esque tea party!

cups

I had to employ a unique ‘cup on cup on CD tower’ type arrangement to get the right view on it in order to paint it straight on. There were a few mis-haps but luckily Wedgwood bounces – ouch!

primulas_3

Here’s a little pic of my painting nest – note hot water bottle (saves having the heating on) and cup of tea dangerously close to water jug (wrong brush, in wrong liquid).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The finished piece is big (A1) cheery, bright and makes me smile. I hope you enjoy it too.

Primula Cups© Claire Leggett

Primula Cups
© Claire Leggett



