© Claire Leggett

© Claire Leggett

I have been working away so hard on my surface pattern design portfolio that I have forgotten to blog about it or upload the designs to my website! So the spring cleaning has continued today and I thought maybe a little design story might be of interest here.

© Claire Leggett

© Claire Leggett

These Daisy designs started at a painted ‘doodle’ in my sketchbook. Top tip here is to use a sketch book that you can remove pages from easily because you never know when genius will strike and you might want to scan a page.

Daisy Garden© Claire Leggett

Daisy Garden
© Claire Leggett

 I had a wonderful time filling up an A3 sketchbook when I was on The Art and Business of Surface Pattern Design course but had to chop elements out if I wanted to fit them under my A4 scanner.

Daisy Furrow© Claire Leggett

Daisy Furrow
© Claire Leggett

 I keep loads of magazine cuttings and printed inspiration most often because I like the colour combo’s.

Mary Fedden "Black Tray"

Mary Fedden “Black Tray”

I love Mary Fedden’s paintings for lots of reasons but I drew some colour inspiration from Black Tray for these designs.

Daisy Dot© Claire Leggett

Daisy Dot
© Claire Leggett

Learning Photoshop has proved to be the greatest compliment to my painting work and it is so much fun to let the painting and the design work feed into each other.

Daisy Dot© Claire Leggett

Daisy Field
© Claire Leggett

Well I hope that has put a shot of colour into an otherwise very cold, grey and uninspiring day.

Daisy © Claire Leggett

Daisy
© Claire Leggett

