OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a bit of a tradition in blogland to show things you’re good at, the corners of your house that are tidy and to share all that’s successful – after all blogs inspire us to try projects out or to go and be creative with paint, yarns, fabric etc.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So it’s with my tongue firmly in cheek that I share this little sewing project I tried recently because it is none of the above. And I must rush to add that it is not the fault of the author at all – this came from Tilda’s Studio which is a beautiful and well written book. It just turned out to be a lot harder than it looked and too much for me.

tilda_birdcage

Being bird obsessed at the moment, I wanted to try to make one of these but it required the stitching of wire into pockets, careful measuring and a sewing machine that will keep its tension.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As you can see mine has got the wonky factor! And that’s a good photo!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And here’s a close-up shot of how to zig-zag stitch over the top of one’s terrible stitching in order to disguise it (not).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ah well, nothing ventured, nothing gained and don’t let me put you off trying it yourself if you’d planned to. I’m going to stick to making dog-bed quilts – small and flat!

