Back in early 2009 I began to hear a small voice of mine asking me a question about the future. I hadn’t heard that voice for some years as bringing up small children didn’t leave much time to hear it. And I wasn’t brave enough. And I wasn’t ready.

© Susan Black - with permission

Typography © Susan Black – used with permission

 But something about turning 40 galvanised me. For a couple of years I have been living the questions and gradually finding the answers as I was only just beginning on a road to the here and now. Today is the first day of my being primarily an artist (I say primarily because I do still have a one-day-a-week commitment to finish at school until the end of July.) But to me, today is my first day of self-employment. Today is the answer to the question I began asking myself when I began art college. Today is the first day of feeling the fear and doing it anyway.

Gallery page

Gallery page

And what better way than to spend today housekeeping my beautiful website (thanks i.e.) and re-loading my photographs properly (no more blurred images) and putting images in the correct places (nice little close-ups.)

Individual painting clicked through from gallery page

Individual painting clicked through from gallery page

