Sometimes its fatal to see an object in a shop with a princely price tag and utter the words “I could make that!”

Because maybe I could make that and it would be a lot of fun and apart from sending to America for Christmas fabric, it would be cheaper.

It might also lengthen the to do list in an unnecessary way and not get noticed by anyone who calls round!

Still I enjoyed making these little birdies helped this time by using the bird pattern in the back of Cath Kidston’s “Sew” book. (Last time I made birds they looked more related to dinosaurs and never made it to my blog – wonder why!)

It was worth the extra fuss to make wings for them even if it did contribute to breaking the sewing machine and cause the curtain making delay (which was a necessary job).

I think I might get away with leaving it up all year – what do you think?

