We recently had a wallpaper sample book on loan from the Pip Studio collection. It was beautiful! Full of gorgeous papers and fabrics and quirky ideas. I will show you the book sometime soon because I photographed every page such was its inspiration! On one page were some paper birdhouses made out of the wallpapers in the collection. And this got me started on a little studio decoration project.

I’m not one for reading or writing instructions much – I prefer to follow the pictures! So I hope you can see the process clearly enough through these photo’s. I covered the inside back wall of the bird house in black paper so that once it was constructed you couldn’t see through the hole to white card. Getting the base and roof on was a bit fiddley and in hindsight I might have fixed the base as much as possible before it became three dimensional.

Like all things that you’re not ‘meant’ to be doing, it was the best fun I’ve had in ages!

It was a great way to put on show some of the lovely papers I’ve hoarded over the years and I look up and remember people who’ve wrapped presents for me in them, or holidays I’ve been on where I’ve bought paper to bring home. It’s a bit like having a wall of photo’s to keep memories alive.

I had to have these vintage birds from eBay one Christmas, which have since sat wrapped in a box waiting for a special moment that has taken 3 or 4 years to come!

It was fun to style them up once I got going, digging out long forgotten treasures.

I read recently that you should follow your instinct to create whatever is making your heart inflate, and I have to say I agree. There is certainly enough to do around here at the moment but to step off the merry-go-round and spend a few hours on a purely fun project was like a little holiday.


