In the past I’ve never seemed to be able to track down nice china at nice prices but I’ve been really lucky recently. The teacup and saucer was a Hastings purchase, the teapot was £4.50 at a vintage sale in Norfolk recently and that cute little jug was only a £1 because it has a chipped spout, but I can paint that in. Altogether they work well, which is something I had in mind as a collected them. The cupboard is full of nice things that don’t group well! I’ve wanted to paint an Auricula since seeing Debbie George’s work. I tracked this one down, bought it, and promptly dropped it on it’s head trying to get my car keys out! But it doesn’t look like it suffered too much. The rest can be fixed with the magic of paint. The leaded light is a piece from our house that got taken out before we came here but I rescued it from the garden. The yellow paper is wrapping paper from somewhere! And the green and aqua fabric is a Heather Bailey design.

All in all I think this set up has a real twenties feel about it which I love. It might be because I’m stuck on reading Persephone Press books at the moment! I’m happily living in the 1930’s, thinking about high tea at 4pm and spending my day tending to my Auricula’s in the conservatory while the staff manage the house!

