I’ve had this cutting on my inspiration board forever – since August 2007 apparently!

These women are designer/makers who got together and opened a shop to sell their work in, in you guessed it, Hastings, by putting in a portion of rent each and agreeing to man the shop in turns. And it’s been an inspiring thought ever since I’d read about it. So I was delighted to get there in person. It’s a lovely old-fashioned shop styled with a vintage edge. And what an inspiring idea – I wish I could be part of something like that.

Another inspiring lady is Anna from Art Hut. Sheย  runs a gallery selling paintings, ceramics and craft items from local makers as well as her own work. We’ve been blogging friends for a little while and it was a pleasure to overcome my shyness and go and drop in and meet her in person. It was very interesting seeing her gallery/workspace set up and hearing a bit about life behind the scenes of running a gallery. Mr L and I dream about doing this at some point in the far off future and so it gave us lots of food for thought.

