I had such a fantastic day on Saturday. Being 40 is great! Thank you to all my family and friends because you are what made it special. I have a lot of birthday goodness to share with you (not all at once) so here is the first, beginning with the consumables…

100_3219

I have two very talented (generous) and green fingered friends, who each brought me a beautiful bunch of their home grown flowers.

Vanessa's flowers

They are so inspiring that I want to do justice to them and capture their charm before they wilt and die…but I’ve got to go to work and can’t spend a chunk of time painting until Thursday.

sketchbook

So I’ve re-discovered my sketchbook having been inspired by http://www.geninne.com/ who draws from still life and uses pen and watercolour. And I’m hoping to capture something of them through simple line drawings and watercolour sketches.

line drawing

100_3255

Fingers crossed that they stay that beautiful until Thursday!

40 cake

This is the other consumable that deserves a mention. My very talented Mum and Dad organised and designed this cake for me, to reflect some of the things I enjoy in life – painting, photography, sewing and cupcakes (sewn, knitted, baked or just eaten!)

100_2958

100_2956

Each corner had a minature on it. Cute eh?!

100_2962

My dad made that easel out of balsa wood. And spot the likeness between our three generation of ladies! Thanks Mum and Dad – I think we can all see where I get my creativity from!

