100_2176_2

Got a call in France to say I had won the Aldbury prize (3rd place) at the RBSA Open Competition.

Wow! and Double Wow!!

So we left France earlier than planned, drove for nothing short of 11 hours with no stops, arrived just in the nick of time at 6.59pm for the 7pm opening and prize giving!!

And here I am, dazed, overwhelmed, astounded, tired, incredibly grateful.

100_1514

It was this painting Blue and White China that won the prize.

I met the judges later and asked what they liked about it (!) and it was the perspective and pattern combination – flat and 3D all at once, and the boldness of subject choice.

All three entries got accepted and the judges said they liked them all.
Yay!

My mantra has been to ‘simply begin’, and so I am incredibly encouraged by the success of this first step.

