Lately I have been as happy as a pig in muck, painting butterflies.

There is something about them that always catches my eye – whether it’s on fabric or stationary. And I was lucky enough recently to find both a vintage set of pinned butterflies and an old encyclopedia of butterflies and moths, so I’ve lots of reference materials.

When we were in Paris I saw these printed butterflies made into push-pins – gorgeous but pricey. So I decided it was something that I really could do myself.

I painted them on really heavy weight watercolour paper and gave them a coat of acrylic varnish to keep them from smudging when they’re used.

Then I folded down each side of the body to lift the wings and make it look more realistic.

I bought some map pins with dark round heads and glued them through the painted butterflies.

And viola! I now have lovely pins on the noticeboard.



